Word Salad and Narc Speak

Posted on April 8, 2015 by Dana in Explaining Narcissists

Your Fault

Word Salad, also often referred to as Narc Speak, is a nonsensical mix of words, phrases, or conversations and is traditionally (and clinically) associated with a person who has Schizophrenia, Dementia, Logorrhea (a communication disorder of the brain), Schizophasia, Receptive Aphasia, or brain injuries.

manipulative word salad

In the context of Narc Speak, the word salad is a combination of intentional manipulative conversational techniques that are designed to frustrate, confuse, and erode the sanity of the victim by getting them to question their perceptions of events, as well as their own judgment in general. Narc Speak most commonly happens when the victim confronts the Narcissist with their behavior, although if the Narcissist is using these techniques to gaslight*, word salad can happen at any time.

Narc speak

*Gaslighting is a form of mental abuse in which information is twisted, spun, or selectively omitted to favor the abuser, or false information is presented with the intent of making victims doubt their own memory, perception, and sanity.

Narc speak


See also:

7 Signs The Narc Is Serving You A ‘Word Salad’
Tactics Manipulators Use To Control And Confuse You
Verbal Manipulation
Gaslighting definition (Urban Dictionary)

2 thoughts on “Word Salad and Narc Speak

  1. I experienced narc speak when I got my D&D. He said the most peculiar things that left me scratching my head going “Huh?”

    One thing I’ll never forget is when he said something along the lines of “You can’t see through your skull!”…. Darn right I can’t! LOL. As if I was supposed to have that power! It was one of the reasons for my D&D, and I still haven’t got a clue what he meant by it to this day!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Cure for the Common Narcissist: Part 1 | braveruth

Speak your mind.